Executive Committee

Members of the Executive Committee serve voluntarily and without compensation. To date the Institute has never had a salaried officer or employee.

s200_richard.burger

Richard Burger

President
Joined 1991

 

Department of Anthropology
Yale University
10 Sachem Street
New Haven, CT 06520
richard.burger@yale.edu

CV

Dan-Feb-15-Portrait-3x4-small

Daniel Sandweiss

Vice President
Joined 2006

Department of Anthropology
University of Maine
South Stevens 5773
Orono, ME 04469-5773
daniel.sandweiss@umit.maine.edu

CV

quilter-380

Jeff Quilter

Treasurer
Joined 2005

 

Department of Anthropology
Peabody Museum
11 Divinity Avenue
Cambridge, MA 02138
quilter@fas.harvard.edu

 

Clark Erickson

Clark Erickson

Secretary
Joined 2003

Department of Anthropology
University of Pennsylvania
University Museum Room 436
cerickso@sas.upenn.edu

Joanne Pillsbury, The Met, Feb 2018

Joanne Pillsbury

Joined 2005

Andrall E. Pearson Curator of Ancient American Art
Metropolitan Museum of Art

Current Members

Current membership of the IAR consists of individuals dedicated to the increase and spread of knowledge in the various branches of anthropology as they concern the Andean region.

John Topic May 2015

John Richard Topic

Executive Committee
Joined 1994

Professor Emeritus
Trent University
Peterborough, Ontario K9J 7B8
jtopic@trentu.ca

Biography

lechtman

Heather Lechtman

Executive Committee
Joined prior to 1991

 

Department of Materials Science and Engineering
Masssachusetts Institute of Technology
Cambridge, MA 02139
lechtman@mit.edu

Gary Urton

Gary Urton

Executive Committee

Dumbarton Oaks Professor of Pre-Columbian Studies
Department of Anthropology
Harvard University
Cambridge, MA 02138
gurton@fas.harvard.edu

CV

malpass

Michael Malpass

Joined 2008

Department of Anthropology
Ithaca College
953 Danby Road
Ithaca, NY 14850-7274
malpass@ithaca.edu

CV

Dr. Tamara Bray

Tamara Bray

Joined 2008

Department of Anthropology
Wayne State University
Detroit, Michigan 48202
t.bray@wayne.edu

Dillehay

Tom Dillehay

Joined 2006

Department of Anthropology
Vanderbilt University
VU Station B #356050
2301 Vanderbilt Place
Nashville, TN 37235
tom.d.dillehay@vanderbilt.edu

Suan-Niles

Susan Niles

Joined 2005

Department of Anthropology and Sociology
Lafayette College
Easton, PA 18042
niless@lafayette.edu

Bio

Dr. Scott Raymond

Scott Raymond

Joined 2004

Department of Archaeology
The University of Calgary
2500 University Drive, NW
Calgary, Alberta,
Canada T2N 1N4
scott.raymond@ucalgary.ca

Salomon-Frank

Frank Salomon

Joined 2004

Department of Anthropology
1180 Observatory Dr.
University of Wisconsin
Madison, WI 53706
fsalomon@wisc.edu

gallery-4

Charles Hastings

Joined prior to 2004

Department of Sociology, Anthropology and Social Work
Central Michigan University
144 Anspach Hall
Mt. Pleasant, MI 48859
hasti1cm@cmich.edu

kschreiber

Katarina Schreiber

Joined prior to 2004

Department of Anthropology
University of Illinois
207 W. Washington
Urbana, IL 61801
rtzuidem@illinois.edu

CV

pgoldstein

Paul Goldstein

Joined prior to 2004

Department of Anthropology
9500 Gilman Dr.
University of California, San Diego
San Diego, CA 92093-0532
psgoldstein@ucsd.edu

Website

Theresa Topic

Theresa Lange Topic

Joined 1994

Professor Emerita
Brescia University College
London, Ontario N6G 1H2
ttopic@uwo.ca

Biography

Lisa DeLeonardis

Lisa Deleonardis

Joined in 2012

Austen-Stokes Associate Professor
Department of the History of Art
Johns Hopkins Krieger School of Arts and Sciences
lisa.deleonardis@jhu.edu

netherly2017cropped1

Patricia Netherly

Research Associate Professor
College of Arts and Sciences
Vanderbilt University
patricia.j.netherly@vanderbilt.edu

Lucy in Cuzco

Lucy Salazar

Joined 2018

Department of Anthropology
Yale University
Research Associate
lucy.salazar@yale.edu

Founders

Wendell-Clark-Bennett

Wendell C. Bennett

Founder (1905-1953)

An anthropologist and founding member of the Institute of Andean Research, Bennett taught at Yale beginning in 1940. He was a staff specialist in Andean archaeology at the American Museum of Natural History in the 1930’s.

Obituary

 

FayCooperCole

Fay-Cooper Cole

Founder (1881-1961)

An American anthropologist who became an authority on the peoples and cultures of the Malay Archipelago, Cole was a promoter of modern archaeology. He also wrote several popular works on evolution and the growth of culture.

Obituary

kidder

Alfred V. Kidder

Founder (1885-1963)

Kidder was the foremost American archaeologist of his day involved in the study of the southwestern United States and Mesoamerica, and the force behind the first comprehensive, systematic approach to North American archaeology.

Obituary

Alfred Kroeber

Alfred L. Kroeber

Founder (1876-1960)

An American cultural anthropologist, Kroeber received his Ph.D. under Franz Boas at Columbia University in 1901. He developed one of the world’s great research museums and teaching departments of anthropology and was the first professor at the University of California, Berkeley.

Obituary

sam lothrop

Samuel KI. Lothrop

Founder (1892-1965)

A Harvard graduate, Lothrop's fascination with New World prehistory led him to perform fieldwork across central and south America, including highland Guatemala, El Salvador, Patagonia, and Peru.

Obituary

philip means

Philip A. Means

Founder (1892-1944)

A leading scholar in American archeology, history, and literature with a focus on Peruvian archeology. Means served as Director of the Peruvian National Museum from 1920-21. His greatest contribution to prehistory was his volume ‘Ancient Civilizations of the Andes’.

Obituary

spier

Leslie Spier

Founder (1893-1961)

Spier, a well-known anthropologist, served as editor for a number of journals, monograph series, and special volumes, including the Yale University Papers in Anthropology and the Southwestern Journal of Anthropology. He also wrote about his extensive ethnological fieldwork.

Obituary

alfred tozzer

Alfred M. Tozzer

Founder (1876-1954)

An American anthropologist, archaeologist, linguist, and educator, Tozzer’s was a prominent Mayanist and Mesoamerican scholar. He served two consecutive terms as president of the American Anthropological Association, and was also elected to the National Academy of Sciences.

Obituary

George C. Vaillant

George C. Vaillant

Founder (1901-1945)

Vaillant received a Ph.D. from Harvard. He served as Associate Curator at the American Museum of Natural History in New York, Museum Director at the University of PA, and as the US State Department Cultural Relations Officer in Lima, Peru. His work lead him to the American southwest, Egypt, and Central and South America.

Obituary